Thanksgiving Recap


Thanksgiving is easily my favorite holiday. I love to cook, especially large, complicated meals for friends. I also love the foods associated with Thanksgiving but rarely prepare any of them at other times of year. I decided to go all out this year. In addition to the three of us we invited our friends Beth & Dave to share the meal with us.

I used the Epicurious.com iPad app to generate my menu this year. I find big holidays a great excuse to experiment with other people’s recipes and techniques. I love this particular app because there are so many recipes and really detailed reviews by people who have tried the recipes. Even if I don’t follow the recipe closely or make tweaks because of my food allergies I find it fun to be inspired by their different flavor combinations.

Here are the recipes which I based our Thanksgiving feast upon and any notes on adjustments I made:

Tandori Turkey



Tandoori Turkey
The only adjustment I really made to this recipe was buying a premade Tandoori seasoning and Garam Masala. I know they’re better freshly made but I already had 2 solid days of cooking and had to cut a few corners. Joel picked these up from Penzey’s for me.

“Simple is Best” Dressing – prepared with gluten-free bread


“Simple is Best” Dressing
The first adjustment is rather obvious for us and that was substituting gluten-free bread. I used it as an excuse to try two new brands: Manini’s and Essential Bakery. The breads are very similar (maybe even made at the same facility) and are ok. They are both on the dry side and a little sweet for my taste. They did work great in this dressing recipe though. I used 2 full loaves (I think 28 ounces) which is much more than the recipe calls for but GF bread tends to compress a lot. I also used homemade beef stock which is just what I happened to have on hand.

Cranberry, Fig, & Pinot Noir Chutney


Cranberry, Fig, and Pinot Noir Chutney
No changes, absolutely delicious. I want to eat this stuff for every meal.
Real Creamed Corn Pudding
I really threw this together at the very last minute, I did not make any adjustments and it was really good. I used to love canned creamed corn as a child and this had the same flavors with way more sophistication.

Roasted Sweet Potato Rounds with Fried Sage


Roasted Sweet Potato Rounds with Garlic Oil and Fried Sage

Brussel Sprouts with Fried Shallots & Mushrooms


Brussel Sprouts with Shallots & Wild Mushrooms
Both of these veggie sides were simple and delicious.

The complete plate


Pecan Pumpkin Pie with gluten-free pie crust


Pecan Pumpkin Pie

Homemade pie & homemade ice cream


This pie was out of this world. I followed the crust recipe provided but replaced the flour with Bob’s Red Mill GF flour blend.

Gluten-free pie crust

I also added a 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda because Little House on the Prairie told me to. The only other adjustment I made was in the filling. Instead of corn syrup in the Pecan layer I used 1/2 maple syrup and 1/2 honey.

I served the Pecan Pumpkin Pie & Salted Caramel Ice Cream with a bit of homemade chocolate sauce as well.


Salted Caramel Ice Cream
I made no adjustments to this recipe and suffered the very delicious consequences.

6 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Recap

  1. Thanksgiving is definitely my favorite holiday too. When else are we encouraged to spend all day cooking in the kitchen as a celebration?? It’s obvious you devoted lots of time and love to your dishes; they look delicious!

  2. Erika, Thanks for giving our gluten free bread a try. We’ve been working on the formulation, especially since Thanksgiving, so it’s moist. We also found it to make pretty great stuffing, bread pudding, and bread crumbs for our various recipes. Thanks for the mentioning us.

Leave a Reply

